The Cleveland Orchestra sets Summers@Severance concerts

A Friday night summer concert series is in its fifth year at Severance Hall, offering an outdoor venue in University Circle to hear the orchestra and visit with friends.

Summer@Severance by Roger Mastroianni (2).jpg
Photo by Roger Mastroianni. Top photo by Barbara Merritt.

On July 27, famed Swedish conductor Herbert Blomstedt leads the orchestra in Brahms’s Symphony No. 4. Blomstedt celebrates his 91st birthday on July 11.

Vasily Petrenko conducts a program featuring Elgar’s tone poem “In the South” and the Concerto for Orchestra by Bartok on Aug. 10. Petrenko is chief conductor of The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra and of the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra.

And Jonathan Cohen leads the orchestra Aug. 24 in Haydn’s Piano Concerto No. 11 in D Major, featuring South-African born pianist Kristian Bezuidenhout, and Mozart’s Symphony No. 25, in Cohen’s and Bezuidenhout’s Cleveland Orchestra debuts, according to a news release.

Tickets are on sale through the Severance Hall Ticket Office or online at Individual tickets start at $25, while series tickets (for all three concerts) start at $60.

Address: Severance Hall, 11001 Euclid Ave., Cleveland

Phone number: 216-231-1111


Social media:

Leave a Reply